sprinkler update..

This is just a little update regarding my earlier DIY sprinkler project: The old Rainbird product (see left photo below) had finally died completely and the time had finally come to put in “version 1.0” of my home-grown replacement (see photo on the right).

old     controller

As compared to the original post I had meanwhile replaced the ATmega328P (i.e. the Arduino ProMini) with an ATmega128: This microprocessor gives me more space for the program code – but it still is a very cheap IC.. However it comes at the price of some extra soldering (see green PCB on the photo above). Anyone interested in using this chip as a replacement for less powerful Arduino’s should have a look here: https://github.com/MCUdude/MegaCore

Previously I had been performing all of my testing with brand new 12V DC solenoid valves. The question was whether or not my new 12V DC controller would also work for the old 24V AC valves already in place from the old installation:

valves
To my great relief it works perfectly and I can finally control the things remotely from my PC 🙂

GUI

Posted on September 4, 2017, in Arduino, C, Hardware, Java. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

